KFC day.

42817

 

Another birthday for the “Outkeeper”! Joe’s favorite guilty pleasure, a bucket of KFC and he enjoys it once a year. I made him my version of a bucket, a bucket of KFC cookies! Happy Birthday to you.

What I used:

  • Chicken leg cookies (I cut a templet)
  • Royal Icing tinted with Wilton Black for the outline and very light Brown for the meat portion.
  • Disposal decorating bags and tips (I used #3)
  • Small paint brush
  • Crushed Corn Flakes
  • KFC bucket

42817ee

Outline the chicken leg in black, I used a #3 tip.

42817ff

Thin some white and brown icing with water.  Adding a little water at a time till you reach the right consistency. Let the icing rest a few minutes before using (always covered with damp towel so the icing won’t dry out). Flood the chicken leg with the thinned brown icing. I use a toothpick to guide the icing into the edges and pop any air bubbles. Let them sit overnight.

42817g
Mix 1 teaspoon of water with 1 teaspoon of meringue powder. I use a small paint brush to paint the mixture onto the meat portion of the cookie. Sprinkle on the crushed cornflakes press down lightly to adhere. I let them dry for 15 minutes before I added them to the KFC bucket.

 

When I finish decorating cookies I think to myself I should have done this! So… next time I will have the black outline on the cookie way closer to the edge. I’ll thin the brown and white icing a little bit more. Next time I will let the cookie rest after the black outline about 15 minutes just to let it set up.

Happy Baking!

It’s a great day at the Cottage.

Leave a Reply

